About the Commission and Steering Committee

Commission Formation

On Thursday, October 29, 2020, the Peoria County Board and the Peoria City Council voted to form a Joint Commission on Racial Justice and Equity at a special virtual joint meeting of both bodies.

View the meeting on the City of Peoria's YouTube page: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XM_v8HRrLs8

View the presentation given by the City Manager and County Administrator: PowerPoint Presentation in PDF form

Meeting agendas and minutes are available here.

Steering Committee Members:

  • Timothy Bertschy (Co-Chair)
  • Mary Peterson (Co-Chair)
  • Angela Bolden
  • Charles Brown
  • Mary Chapai
  • Robert Dunigan
  • Raeann Garza Whitby
  • Angela Green
  • Joshua Gunn
  • Julia Issa-Ghantous
  • Jim Johnson
  • Micah Lavender
  • Chuck Mitchell
  • Mike Murphy
  • Rasheedah Na'Allah
  • Pam Orear
  • Abrain Robinson
  • Jonathan Wright
  • Bradley Wright-Hulett
  • Angela Young
  • Ex-Officio members: Patrick Urich, Scott Sorrel
  • City Liason: Andre Allen
  • County Liason: Brandy Bryant